Drunk Driving License Implications
Driver's License Implications in Westchester County, NY
A DWI conviction can not only land you in jail and subject you to steep fines but also derail your livelihood. This is because your driver’s license will get suspended or revoked for a maximum of 18 months, creating a host of problems and inconveniences in your day-to-day life. Many defendants underestimate the impacts of a DWI conviction, which is why our Westchester County DWI lawyers encourage you to learn more about drunk driving license implications.
Proto, Sachs & Brown, LLP is committed to fighting for your liberties, which include your driving privileges. When you retain the representation of our DWI defense attorneys, we will thoroughly guide you through the process and help you understand how drunk driving license implications are enforced. Further, we will offer the legal counsel you need to understand your options following the suspension or revocation of your license.
Driver’s License Suspension for New York DWI Convictions
A DWI or DWAI conviction will result in a mandatory suspension or revocation of your driving privileges and may last for up to 18 months, depending on the type of charges you got.
You should expect your driver’s license to be suspended during the pendency of your case. For example, if you are found guilty of DWAI or plead guilty to DWAI, your license will be suspended for 90 days. After 90 days, your driver’s license may be reinstated upon payment to the DMV.
However, our Westchester County DWI lawyers will assist you in obtaining a hardship or conditional driver’s license during this period. We understand that your life can be placed on “hold” without a driver’s license, and will work diligently to devise a legal strategy that can help you achieve the most favorable result possible.
NY Driver’s License Revocation
If your driver's license is revoked, it means that your license to drive within the State of New York is terminated. Unlike a suspension, there is not an automatic reinstatement of your driver’s license upon the payment of a fee, and you must reapply to the DMV to get a new driver’s license.
If you pleaded guilty or are found guilty of a misdemeanor DWI, then your driver's license will be revoked for at least six months. If you are found guilty of a felony DWI or plead guilty to a felony DWI, then your driver's license will be revoked for no less than one year.
Suspension and Revocation Periods for DWIs and DWAIs
As mentioned above, the length of your driver’s license suspension or revocation depends on the nature of your charges. Upon a conviction, you may likely experience the following:
- 6-month revocation for a misdemeanor DWI
- 1-year revocation for a felony DWI
- 1-year revocation for a DWI with a .18 BAC or more
- DWAI: 90-day suspension for DWAI
- 6-month suspension for a drug-related DWAI
- DWI or DWAI-drug committed within 10 years of any previous violation: 1-year revocation
- 6-month revocation for a DWAI committed within 5 years of any previous related offense
- 6-month suspension for drugged driving
- 18-month suspension for a DWI with a child less than 16 years of age
Our DWI defense attorneys in Westchester County obtain over six decades of collective legal experience and can leverage it to help you resolve your DWI charges. New York State imposes some of the strictest DWI penalties in the nation, which is why we will strategize tactful methods of getting your driver’s license back as soon as possible.